Reckless Driving Attorneys Passaic County, NJ
Protecting Clients’ Rights Across Clifton, Wayne, Paterson, Woodland Park, Little Falls, West Milford and Passaic County
Reckless driving is a very serious traffic violation charge in the state of New Jersey. A conviction may lead to fines, a suspended license, and even jail time. A charge of reckless driving is often entered by law enforcement personnel based on his or her understanding of a vehicular incident. It can be intimidating to go into a courtroom with only your word against a police officer. On the bright side, reckless driving can be difficult to prove due to the definition of the infraction, which does leave a grey area for interpretation.
At the Law Office of Del Sardo & Montanari, our experienced criminal defense attorneys have successfully represented clients across New Jersey, including towns like Paterson, Clifton, Little Falls, Wayne, Woodland Park, West Milford, and the greater Passaic County area. We believe in keeping our clients informed and involved throughout the legal process so that they feel in control of their future. Being accused of a crime with potential jail time is a scary prospect. Lean on our experience to protect your legal rights and help reach the best possible outcome in your reckless driving case.
Call our office today to speak with a representative from our criminal defense team in a free and confidential consultation regarding your reckless or careless driving case.
Reckless Driving Penalties N.J.S.A 39:4-96 Wayne, NJ Reckless Driving Lawyers
According to New Jersey Statute 39:4-96, reckless driving is defined as “a person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property”. Being found guilty of reckless driving in NJ can lead to fines, jail time or both.
For a first offense, individuals guilty of reckless driving may receive a maximum jail sentence of up to 60 days, a fine that can range from $50 to $500, or both. An offender with prior reckless driving convictions can serve jail time up to 3 months, pay a fine from $100 to $500, or both.
In addition to potential fines and jail time, a reckless driving conviction will almost certainly lead to additional punitive measures such as a suspended driver’s license and 5 points on your license for every conviction.
Reducing a Reckless Driving Charge to Careless Driving, Paterson Traffic Violation Attorneys
If you have been accused of reckless driving, our Paterson traffic violation attorneys may fight to have the charges changed to careless driving instead. Careless driving is defined as “A person who drives a vehicle carelessly, or without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property”.
In order for your traffic offense to be considered reckless driving, the key differentiator is intent. By reading the legal definitions of reckless and careless driving, the phrase which is most different between the two is “in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others”. In other words, our Paterson attorneys may be able to show that the actions you took had no intention or deliberate aim to harm or otherwise endanger people or property.
In the least, we will work to cast a shadow of a doubt on the State’s claim that you were driving recklessly and with wanton disregard to your surroundings. The burden of proof is on the state in this case, and our attorneys will work with you to show that there is no proof of such malicious or willful intent.
A careless driving offense is much less serious in the state of New Jersey, and will likely result in no jail time, a reduced or eliminated fine, and a maximum of 2 points accrued on your driver’s license.
Clifton, NJ Reckless Driving Lawyers Discuss Insurance Fallout
Traffic violations of all kinds are public record and may be used against you by auto insurance companies to raise premiums and other associated costs. Insurance companies track traffic violations similar to the state of New Jersey and also have a points system in place which they use in part to determine your rates.
If you are convicted of reckless driving, that is a major red flag to auto insurers that you are not a good bet. Downgrading the offense from reckless driving to careless driving or earning an outright acquittal is the best way to ensure that you are not paying exorbitant fees just to legally drive.
It is also important to note that if you accrue too many citations, too many points on your driver’s license, or too many “insurance points”, you may no longer be able to find a car insurance provider who will give you a policy even at an increased rate. At that point, you may be forced to purchase New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan. An NJPAIP plan is special auto insurance for high risk drivers that is often very expensive with little coverage.
Contact our Woodland Park Reckless & Careless Driving Lawyers for a Free Consultation
At Del Sardo & Montanari, we take pride in protecting the legal rights of our New Jersey clients across towns like Clifton, Wayne, Paterson, Little Falls, West Milford, Woodland Park, and the greater Passaic County region. Do not let an accusation of criminal wrongdoing change your life. With the help of our experienced criminal defense team, we can work to lessen your charge to a non-criminal, careless driving citation, avoid jail time, fines, and points on your license, or have the charges dropped altogether.
Contact us online or at our Woodland Park offices by calling (973) 233-4396 today for a free and confidential consultation to discuss your individual needs and concerns pertaining to a reckless driving charge or any other traffic violation.