Leaving the Scene of an Accident Attorneys Passaic County, NJ
Defending Clients Across Paterson, Clifton, Wayne, West Milford, Woodland Park, Little Falls, and Passaic County
Leaving the scene after a motor vehicle accident is a very serious offense in New Jersey. Also known as a “hit and run”, fleeing the scene of an accident can take many forms, but it is always a traffic violation. Minor car accidents are common and it may be possible for a driver to not realize that he or she has been involved in a collision. Even if you were unaware that you were leaving the scene of an accident, the legal ramifications can be severe if not handled appropriately.
At The Montanari Law Group, our criminal defense and traffic violation attorneys take pride in reaching favorable outcomes for our clients in New Jersey towns including Wayne, Paterson, West Milford, Clifton, Little Falls, Woodland Park, and the greater Passaic County area. We understand that many drivers freeze up in the aftermath of an accident and may have made a mistake which is now leading to serious criminal charges. Lean on our extensive experience and knowledge of the New Jersey Municipal Court system to help reduce or even eliminate your charges and or penalties.
Call our office today to speak with our team of traffic violation lawyers in a free and confidential consultation regarding your hit and run accident and how we can best serve you.
Hit and Run N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 Wayne, NJ Fleeing the Scene of an Accident Lawyers
Pursuant to New Jersey Revised Statutes Section 39:4-129, “The driver of any vehicle, knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible but shall then forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene until he has fulfilled the requirements of subsection (c) of this section.”
Subsection (c) tells us that drivers who are knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury or death must share his or her name, address, driver’s license, vehicle registration with police officers, any witnesses, and most importantly the driver and/or occupants of other vehicles involved in the traffic collision.
If the driver or witnesses are unable to receive information such as name, address, etc. at the time of the accident, the driver is then responsible for filing a police report as soon as possible with a local police department. If any of the drivers of occupants have been injured, the driver must attempt to reasonably assist the injured persons, including getting that person to a hospital or nearby physician for treatment.
Failure to comply with any of these conditions may be considered a hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident. If you fall into these categories or have been falsely accused of acting in a manner outside of hit and run statutes in New Jersey, our Wayne criminal defense and traffic violation attorneys may be able to work with your individual case and help prove that you were not at fault.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident: Paterson, NJ Hit and Run Attorneys
Fleeing the scene of an accident will almost always result in a traffic citation, and may lead to criminal charges as well. The circumstances of the accident including property damage, injuries, or death all play a major role in determining the outcome of your case.
First Time Offender – No Injuries or Deaths
- Jail time up to 30 days
- Fine between $200 and $400
- Suspended driver’s license for six (6) months
- Two (2) points added to driver’s license
Second Time Offender – No Injuries or Deaths
- Jail time between 30 and 90 days
- Fine between $400 and $600
- Suspended driver’s license for one (1) year
- Two (2) points added to driver’s license
Accident Resulting in Injury or Death
- Jail time of 180 days
- Fine between $2,500 and $5,000
- Suspended driver’s license for one (1) year for a first offense and a permanent revocation of driver’s license for a second offense
- Eight (8) points added to driver’s license
Contact our Little Falls Hit and Run Attorneys Today
The Montanari Law Group, our traffic violation and criminal defense attorneys understand the serious implications of being found guilty of a hit and run accident in New Jersey. In addition to losing one’s license temporarily or even permanently, the risk of potential jail time and fines are a heavy burden to carry alone. Lean on the extensive experience of our legal team, who take pride in serving our local New Jersey communities including the towns of Wayne, Clifton, Paterson, Woodland Park, Little Falls, West Milford and the greater Passaic County area. Our hit and run defense lawyers will need to work with you on a personal level to get all of the facts of your case and use our intimate knowledge of New Jersey motor vehicle and traffic statutes to find the best possible defense for your unique circumstances.
Contact us online or give us a call at our Little Falls, NJ offices at (973) 233-4396 to discuss your leaving the scene of an accident case and how we may best serve your individual needs in a free and confidential consultation.