Automobile Theft Attorneys Passaic County, NJ
Serving Clients Across Paterson, Clifton, Woodland Park, Wayne, West Milford, Little Falls and Passaic County
Automobile theft can take many forms in New Jersey including joyriding, carjacking, and any other circumstances surrounding the unlawful taking of an automobile. Auto theft without inflicting injury on another person or persons is most often considered a third or fourth-degree felony crime in New Jersey. On the other hand, carjacking is an auto theft that also includes physical violence or threats of violence upon the victim. If the offender commits a carjacking, those penalties may result in a first-degree felony charge with a maximum prison sentence of 30 years!
At The Law Office of Del Sardo & Montanari, our criminal defense attorneys have experience successfully reducing or dismissing auto theft and carjacking charges for our clients in local New Jersey towns including Paterson, Woodland Park, Wayne, Clifton, Little Falls, West Milford, and the greater Passaic County area. We understand that criminal convictions can change the lives of our clients and their families. Our defense attorneys are committed to working individually with each of our clients to best serve their needs.
Call our office today for a free and confidential consultation with a member of our criminal defense team regarding your auto theft or carjacking criminal charges.
Auto Theft N.J.S.A. 2C:20-10: Clifton, NJ Stolen Car Defense Lawyers
Pursuant to New Jersey Revised Statutes Section 2C:20-3 – Theft, and Section 2C:20-10: Unlawful taking of means of conveyance, auto theft is defined by one of the following actions:
- Intentionally and permanently stealing an automobile with no intention of returning the vehicle to owner – second or third-degree crime
- Temporarily taking an automobile without the consent of the owner – fourth-degree crime
- Temporarily taking an automobile without the consent of the owner which creates a dangerous situation that may lead to injury or property damage – third-degree crime
- Riding as a passenger in a motor vehicle which the offender knows to be used without the consent of the owner – fourth-degree crime
As per New Jersey Revised Statutes Section 2C:15-2 – Carjacking, first-degree carjacking charges may result from an unlawful theft of an automobile which also includes:
- Bodily injury sustained by the owner or occupant of the vehicle
- Threats to the safety of the owner or occupant of the vehicle
- Threats to commit any other first or second-degree crime as defined by New Jersey statutes
- Takes owners or other occupants of the vehicle as hostages and/or coerces a victim to drive the vehicle against their will
Wayne, NJ Carjacking and Car Theft Attorneys Discuss Penalties
First Degree carjacking convictions may lead to:
- Maximum prison sentence of 30 years with a mandatory minimum sentence of five (5) years
- Fines up to $200,000
- Felony conviction on permanent record
- Falls under New Jersey No Early Release Act, meaning offenders must serve at least 85% of their prison sentence before being eligible for parole
Second Degree auto theft convictions may lead to:
- Prison sentence ranging between five (5) and ten (10) years
- Maximum fine of $150,000
- Suspended driver’s license up to 10 years
- Felony on permanent record
Third Degree auto theft convictions may lead to:
- Prison sentence of three (3) to five (5) years
- Fines up to $15,000
- Suspension of driver’s license for a maximum of 10 years
- Felony conviction
Fourth Degree auto theft convictions may lead to:
- 18 months in state prison
- Fines up to $10,000
- Suspended driver’s license
- Felony mark on permanent record
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:20-2.2 – Addition fine for auto theft, offenders may owe even more money based on the value of the car if it is not recovered and is of greater value than $7,500.
Paterson, NJ Car Theft Defense Lawyers Build a Defense
As you can see, the definition of auto theft is fairly loose in New Jersey. Taking a car for temporary use without the permission of the owner or individual responsible could be a simple misunderstanding or accident. Our Paterson car theft defense lawyers understand that these cases can vary dramatically based on circumstance and the evidence being presented against you.
All auto theft and carjacking criminal charges are felonies with potential prison time. Do not leave your defense to chance when you can secure the legal services of our experienced criminal defense lawyers. We will examine the details of your case and attack the prosecution’s arguments from every available angle including evidence gathering, law enforcement conduct, witness testimony, and more.
Contact our Woodland Park Carjacking and Car Theft Defense Attorneys Today
At The Law Office of Del Sardo & Montanari, our auto theft and carjacking defense attorneys serve New Jersey communities such as Clifton, Woodland Park, Paterson, Wayne, West Milford, Little Falls, and the greater Passaic County area. We believe in treating all our clients with the empathy and respect we would hope to receive when facing such serious allegations. Allow our team of legal professionals to work with you on an individual basis to find a defensive strategy that may lead to reduced or even dismissed charges in your auto theft or carjacking case.
Contact us online or over the phone by calling our Woodland Park office today at (973) 233-4396. A member of our criminal defense team will be waiting to speak with you regarding the details of your carjacking or auto theft case and what we can do to best serve your needs.