Passaic County Methamphetamine Possession and Distribution Offenses

Skilled Methamphetamine Defense Lawyers Representing Clients in Paterson and Passaic County NJ

Methamphetamine Possession Lawyers in Passaic County, New JerseySynthetic methamphetamine is a dangerous drug whose use is increasing in New Jersey and around the country. The manufactured drug, which can be taken in a variety of ways, increases the hormone dopamine in the brain, inducing a sensation of ecstasy and well-being in the brain’s reward centers. However, this feeling is short-lived and results in an addiction to the drug, as well as other more immediate and dangerous side effects. It increases the rate of functioning of other systems of the body, namely the circulatory system, causing increased blood pressure, rapid heartbeat, and quickened respiration. It can also cause long-term damage to essential organs such as the liver and kidneys. In some cases, meth use can result in death.

Unfortunately, the use of methamphetamine is growing in New Jersey. The consequences of meth are not only physical. The New Jersey criminal justice system treats possession and intent to distribute methamphetamine as a serious crime. If you have been charged with meth possession or intent to distribute, you need the help of a qualified criminal drug defense attorney immediately. The Montanari Law Group boasts a reputable track record in effectively advocating for clients facing drug and controlled substance charges across various locations in Passaic County, New Jersey, including Little Falls, Woodland Park, Hawthorne, Clifton, Haledon, Totowa, and Wayne. Our unwavering dedication is to safeguarding your rights and securing your future. Contact our criminal defense team today at 973-233-4396 for a free and confidential consultation regarding your charges and criminal penalties for methamphetamine possession and distribution.

New Jersey Prohibition on Methamphetamine Possession and Distribution

Methamphetamine is a seriously dangerous synthetic drug that is highly restricted. As such, they are viewed strictly under substance abuse laws. There are no exceptions that would allow a person to possess or distribute methamphetamine personally, as is the case with some other controlled substances. All possession, distribution, and use of meth is illegal.

According to New Jersey law, the extent to which methamphetamine possession is punished depends on three factors: the amount possessed, the location of possession, and evidence of the intent to distribute. Methamphetamine is listed as a Schedule II controlled dangerous substance. A Schedule II controlled substance is one that has a high probability of abuse, is severely restricted in the United States, and is likely to lead to addiction. New Jersey Revised Statutes 2C:35-10 states that it is unlawful to possess a controlled substance, be under its influence, or fail to register it, with limited exceptions. Methamphetamine does not constitute a controlled substance that is permitted by any legal exception.

Understanding Methamphetamine Possession and Distribution Consequences in New Jersey

Possession of methamphetamine in New Jersey is usually considered a third-degree felony crime. Penalties for this type of possession charge are up to five years in prison and $15,000 in fines. If one is found to possess methamphetamine within 1000 feet of a school zone or school bus, a significant community service requirement will be added to one’s sentence, up to 100 hours.

Simply being under the influence of meth can also result in disorderly persons offense, comparable to a misdemeanor. Penalties for a disorderly persons offense are up to six months in jail and up to $1000 in fines.

Intent to distribute methamphetamine seriously exacerbates the charge, potentially elevating the offense to a second-degree or even first-degree felony. Possession of more than 5 ounces is a first-degree crime with a penalty of up to 20 years in prison and up to $200,000 in fines. Possession of more than 1/2 ounce but fewer than 5 ounces is a second-degree felony, with penalties of up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines. Possession of less than 1/2 ounce is a third-degree crime. New Jersey also considers intent to distribute methamphetamine in public parks or public housing projects to be a serious offense. Intent to distribute even small quantities of meth in these areas can result in harsher penalties.

First-Time Offenders Charged with Methamphetamine

Paterson Methamphetamine Distribution AttorneysWhile methamphetamine charges are extremely serious in New Jersey, there are opportunities to reduce penalties or avoid a conviction. Diversionary options exist in some cases for first offenders who face less serious charges. These provide an alternative option to prison that focuses on rehabilitation and results in charges being dropped. The requirements could include participation in a drug treatment program, community service, or regular drug testing.

Protect Your Rights with Experienced Crystal Meth Defense in Little Falls NJ

A skilled drug defense attorney can help you prepare a strong defense against your charge or negotiate a plea deal that drastically reduces the penalties you face and gets you back to your life more quickly. Our team at The Montanari Law Group, LLC defends clients who have been arrested for possessing, distributing, and intent to distribute methamphetamine Ringwood, North Haledon, West Caldwell, Passaic City, Wanaque, and elsewhere in Passaic County, New Jersey. We are committed to ensuring that your rights and your future are protected. Contact us today at 973-233-4396 for a free consultation regarding your meth charge.


To speak with one of our highly knowledgeable attorneys, contact us today at (973)-233-4396 or toll-free at (888)-877-7985. You can also complete the form below to begin your conversation. We are a personalized, boutique-style law firm that offers free initial consultations and flexible appointment options.