Passaic County pair charged in North Bergen armed robbery
Last month, two men were arrested and charged in a North Bergen, NJ robbery. The men allegedly used a gun to threaten and rob a car salesman while negotiating for the purchase of the car. The two men then attempted to evade the police but were subsequently detained.
The suspects, Charles Umstead, 23, of North Haledon, and Wanya M. Gore, 21, of Paterson, were arrested and charged with robbery, conspiracy to commit armed robbery and obstructing a governmental function for running away from the police. Gore has also been charged with weapons offenses related to a handgun, including possession of a handgun. Their bails were set at $200,000.
Passaic County NJ Robbery Offenses
The legal definition of robbery is as follows: “Robbery is defined as inflicting harm or force on another, or threatening harm of force in the commission of a theft.” In most parts of the country, including Wayne and Woodland Park NJ, robbery is considered a violent crime and as such can carry some severe penalties. New Jersey in particular is known to have some of the most severe and strict laws associated with robbery offenses.
To be specific, there are two types of robbery, first degree and second degree. First degree robbery refers to cases where the suspect is armed at the time of the theft or if the suspect inflicts or attempts to inflict serious bodily harm. First degree robbery carries a potential 10 to 20 year prison sentence. Second degree robbery refers to all other robbery cases and has a potential prison sentence of 5 to 10 years. Clearly, a robbery charge is an extremely serious charge in New Jersey. If you have been charged with robbery, retaining a Clifton NJ attorney with experience defending robbery charges is highly recommended in order to protect your rights.
Passaic County NJ Gun Offenses
New Jersey is also notorious for having extremely strict gun laws. Unlike most other states, the New Jersey constitution does not guarantee the right to bear arms, although New Jersey residents are still accorded that right following the Second Amendment. New Jersey law states that adults may carry unloaded firearms in public without a valid permit. However, it is illegal to carry a loaded firearm, even if you have a permit for it, unless you are on your property or at your place of business. It is also a crime to possess a weapon if you have been convicted of one of the following: domestic violence, aggravated assault, arson, burglary, extortion, homicide, kidnapping, robbery, sexual assault, and most drug crimes.
Contact a Wayne Robbery and Gun Lawyer with offices in Woodland Park, NJ
Weapons Offenses and robbery are serious offenses in New Jersey, that carry a number of serious consequences ranging from fines to prison time. If you or a loved one has been charged with either of these crimes, it is in your best interest to retain experienced legal counsel. Contact The Montanari Law Group today online, via telephone, or in our Little Falls, NJ offices today for a free consultation.